Moody Blues - The Our Childrens childrens children album cover - picture uploaded by panicattack to people -> panicattack -> Moody Blues - The Our Childrens childrens children album cover

Moody Blues - The Our Childrens childrens children album cover
 To Our Children's Children's Children is an album by The Moody Blues first issued in late 1969. It was the first album released on the group's newly formed Threshold Records label, which was named after the band's previous album from the same year, On the Threshold of a Dream.

It is the fourth of what are popularly considered the group's "core seven" albums from 1967-72, and as such represents the peak of their career to some. While the song chosen for the single, "Watching and Waiting," by itself was not a major hit, taken as a whole the album is remarkably balanced, featuring strong songwriting contributions from all five band members.

It was inspired by the 1969 moon landing, and the songs center around the twin themes of space travel and children, with minor-key tonalities and a distinct psychedelic influence.

To Our Children's Children's Children was critically well-received but sold relatively poorly. The band also found most of the songs impossible to perform live, due to extremely lush orchestrations and a great deal of overdubbing. The only songs from the album that were performed live were "Higher and Higher," "Gypsy" and, to a limited extent, "Candle of Life." For this reason their following album, A Question of Balance, was more stripped down and basic in instrumentation. This change only lasted for one album and the next, Every Good Boy Deserves Favour, saw a return to their earlier orchestral sound.

In March 2006 the album was remastered into SACD format and repackaged as a 2CD Deluxe Edition.

The song "Out and In" originally was credited to both Mike Pinder and John Lodge, their only collaboration noted as such; but on the 1997 CD rerelease, Lodge's cowriting credit was omitted.

Track listing:

1. "Higher and Higher" (Graeme Edge) – 4:11
2. "Eyes of a Child I" (John Lodge) – 3:34
3. "Floating" (Ray Thomas) – 3:02
4. "Eyes of a Child II" (Lodge) – 1:20
5. "I Never Thought I'd Live to be a Hundred" (Justin Hayward) – 1:06
6. "Beyond" (Edge) – 3:00
7. "Out and In" (Mike Pinder/Lodge) – 3:44
8. "Gypsy" (Hayward) – 3:35
9. "Eternity Road" (Thomas) – 4:17
10. "Candle of Life" (Lodge) – 4:19
11. "Sun Is Still Shining" (Pinder) – 3:35
12. "I Never Thought I'd Live to be a Million" (Hayward) – :34
13. "Watching and Waiting" (Hayward/Thomas) – 4:17

Bonus tracks on the Deluxe Edition:

1. Gypsy (Full Version)
2. Candle of Life (Full Version)
3. Sun Is Still Shining (Alternate Mix)
4. Gypsy (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
5. Sunset (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
6. Never Comes The Day (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
7. Are You Sitting Comfortably (Radio Concert 17/12/69)
8. The Dream (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
9. Have You Heard (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
10. Nights In White Satin (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
11. Legend Of A Mind (BBC Radio Concert 17/12/69)
No votes yet
Moody Blues - The Our Childrens childrens children album cover
Click for 301 x 300 image
Vote for this picture Moody Blues - The Our Childrens childrens children album cover
so far0/5 (0 Votes)
This picture is part of the albums:
The Moody Blues
Moody Blues - On the Thres hold of a dream album coverThe Moody Blues - days of future passed album coverMoody Blues - The Our Childrens childrens children album coverMoody Blues - A Question of balance album coverMoody Blues - The magnificent moodies album cover
Picture URL:

Medium URL:

Thumbnail URL:

comment on this photo / image

Your Name
Comment Subject

No comments on this picture yet, add yours


Albums by first letter
A : B : C : D : E : F : G : H : I : J : K : L : M : N : O : P : Q : R : S : T : U : V : W : X : Y : Z : numbers : other

My Drive

 User Name:
Lost Password

Private Images:
0 Bytes / 0 Bytes.
Private photo space usage
Public Images:
0 Bytes / 0 Bytes.
Public photo space usage


  • Register
  • Once you enter your email address, You will get an Email, in that email you will find a link., Simply click the link, and chose a username and password
  • You are now registered at the website and ready to upload and organise your photos and images
  • Go to the upload page, and start uploading your pictures and photos

Main Website Sections